iOS 8 users be warned – there’s a pretty serious fault in Apple’s operating system that could potentially leave you very upset.
It turns out that a usually standard, harmless option within your iPhone or iPad’s settings menu can lead to the irreversible deletion of some of your most important documents.
The option in question is ‘Reset All Settings’, which can be found in the General > Reset menu on your device. Ordinarily, this button would do just that – reset the settings on apps an the like to their factory default. The warning before you go through with this process clearly states that ‘no media or data will be deleted’ should you follow through with this option. It seems Apple may unintentionally be lying to you.
A glitch in iOS 8 has seen some users reporting that after resetting their settings, all iWork documents stored on iCloud are deleted. These documents vanish both from the device and the Cloud, in an obviously unintentional fault. There is no way to retrieve these documents once deleted.
If your iOS device is synced with a Mac running OS X Yosemite those documents are also deleted from the computer, too.
It’s not been a great week for Apple to say the least, and this news breaking will surely only add to its headache. We’ll be sure to update this article as soon as Apple addresses the issue or releases a hotfix.