The latest update to popular taxi application Uber will allow the company to track passengers locations even after they’ve closed the application and finished the fare.

Previously, it was only possible if the Uber application remained open. The update will allow the taxi service to collect user data for up to 5 minutes after a journey has been completed. Uber has updated the information on its website to reflect the change, saying that: ‘We do this to improve pickups, drop-offs, customer service, and to enhance safety.”

The option to disable information sharing features still exists within the application itself, though you’ll need to manually input pick up and drop off details each time. Users of the application have taken to social media in protest, with some claiming that they won’t use the app until the feature is reverted back. Others have asked for an ‘opt in’ button, allowing people to decide if they want the added functionality at the expense of less privacy.

The update is live now for both Android and iOS users and it’s likely that you won’t even know… which is equally creepy. Uber has recently been under fire for legal issues regarding passenger data and the ‘God View’ tool, with the firm giving out $20,000 (£15,700 GBP)

For more news, visit what Mobile’s dedicated news page.

Thomas Wellburn

Thomas Wellburn

Deputy Editor at What Mobile
Tech, mobile and gaming enthusiast. Has a passion for Techno and music production. Will watch cat videos for several hours at a time.
Thomas Wellburn
More From Us...
Translate »